Syros, Cyclades

Noble Lady of the Aegean

History of the Island and Sightseeing

The island of Syros is at the canter if Cyclades, having at the east side the islands Andros, Tinos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, at the west Sifnos, Serifos, Kythnos, Kea and at north Gyaros. Famous for its architecture, for which have worked architects like Ziller, Sampo, Erlacher, Vlyssides, or Eleftheriades, it had the image of a western town being at numerous times the epicenter of contrasting movement and activity, unusual for the country that Greece used to be at time.

The name of the capital, Hermoupolis, is an tribute to the God of the ancient Greeks, Hermes, god of the letters and of commerce. The first testimonies come to us from 3000-4000 BC, where the island lived basically from the land and the sea, but with intense cultural life and developed navy and commerce.

After a fallout during the Byzantine Empire, pirate raids and the final occupancy by the Turks, at the beginning of the 19th century the island gets back on its feet and finds itself at the important commercial and political status of before.

A city of outstanding wealth and prosperity, it has made many breakthroughs to the development of the commerce, industry, education and arts. The numerous influences, are to be seen in the “allure” of it and to the elements that compose it. Today it is a vivid colorful modern city, that offers a quality if life combined with history. History that you can touch at its every corner.

Following places are worth a visit:

Archaeological Museum of Syros, Industrial Museum of Ermoupolis, The Old Port, The Miaouli Square, The Ermoupolis’ Library, Apollon Theatre, St.Nicholas Church, St.George’s Cathedral, Marcos Vamvakaris Museum

Blog Single

Beaches of the Island

The beauty of the island is not only to be seen in Ermoupolis and Ano Syros, but hits the eye in all of the outdoors of the island, in the amazing contrasts of the north and south of it.

Following beaches are worth a visit:

Vari, Azolinos, Santorinioi, Fabrika, Achladi, Megas Gialos, Ambela, Posidonia, Agathopes, Galissas, Kini, Finikas, Delfini.